Good Bye Sour Cream – Rejoice!

There are many things that I absolutely hate. One of them is sour cream. If I take a bite of sour cream it makes me gag and I will inevitably spit it back out. It does not matter if it is mixed in well in a dish, I will taste it and more than likely spit it out. I absolutely hate sour cream.

But the other thing that I hate more than sour cream is good byes. Especially when it’s toward people who you care about. And the thing with good byes is that it is truly a good-bye, not see you later because when someone leaves they are not able to be there through thick and thin, through the good and the bad. It is good-bye so that others can move on and make connections with others that are there immediately around them. This does not mean that you stop caring or do not talk every once in a while, but it is a recognition that the relationship that you once had with that person is not the same as it was before.

Over the past week and during this coming week I am going to say good bye to many people who I truly care about. My time on my internship is coming to a quick close. I have gotten an amazing opportunity to meet a number of great people both where I served and out in the community. However, it is time to start saying good byes even though it is something that I would normally try to avoid doing like eating sour cream.

But at the same time there is an exciting future ahead for all of us. I know for myself, the next year is going to raise a number of questions. I am expecting that within the next two or three weeks many, if not all, of those questions that I have will be answered. And as for those who I leave this week can also take assurance in God’s promise in that He knows what it is that they need. ” “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes?…So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6).

Therefore, “Rejoice in the Lord always, I will say it again, rejoice!” (Philippians 4:4). There is a bright future for those who have put their trust and confidence in Christ Jesus. He is indeed coming again to take those who have been saved through him, by faith, to be with him for all eternity where we will no longer have to say good-bye or farewell, but where we get to live together forever. And hopefully with no sour cream!

Leave a Reply

