“Where is your faith?”

One day Jesus said to his disciples, “Let’s cross to the other side of the lake.” So they got into a boat and started out. As they sailed across, Jesus settled down for a nap. But soon a fierce storm came down on the lake. The boat was filling with water, and they were in real danger.

The disciples went and woke him up, shouting, “Master, Master, we’re going to drown!”

When Jesus woke up, he rebuked the wind and the raging waves. Suddenly the storm stopped and all was calm. Then he asked them, “Where is your faith?”

The disciples were terrified and amazed. “Who is this man?” they asked each other. “When he gives a command, even the wind and waves obey him!”

When the disciples woke Jesus up they were certain that they were going to drown. In fact it was not until the boat started filling with water did they even think about waking Jesus up. When they woke Him up they were afraid and certain of the fact that they were going to die. Today, I look at this text and I think why? Why were they certain that they were going to drown? Afterall they are with Jesus. There is nothing better then being with Jesus. I think that and I ask myself why were the disciples so stupid? It is funny to think that I ask the same question that Jesus asks His disciples, but he phrased it differently. Where is your faith? Why do you not think that I am not in control of this world? Why do you not put your trust, your confidence, in me to get you through the storm?

The thing is that the disciples did not rreally know who Jesus was.

“Who is this man?” they asked each other. “When he gives a command, even the wind and waves obey him!”

They did not know that they were with the Messiah! They did not know that they were with God himself. Even after all the miracles that they had witnessed, they still did not know who Jesus truly was. Therefore Jesus asked them, “Where is your faith?

It almost seems as if Jesus is asking that question to us today. “Where is your faith?” So often we are faced with storms in this life. Just like the disciples I tend to try to handle my sinking ship on my own power and strength. It is not until I come to the point of realizing that I am going to drown that I turn to Jesus and ask Him to protect me from the rough time in my life. The awesome thing is that he always comes through, even in ways I do not quite expect. It is at that point that I get to experience His peace. Then I am humbled and come to Him begging for forgiveness for not trusting Him and putting Him fist in my life. And as He promises, He forgives me.

“Where is your faith?” My trust rest in Jesus. The one who controls the winds and the seas and all of creation. The one who died for my sin. The One who rose for my sin. The One who has claimed me as His and the One who guides me throughout my life every step of the way.

2 thoughts on ““Where is your faith?”

  1. Pingback: SAVE US! WE’RE GOING TO DROWN! | "Working for Christ"

  2. Pingback: Oh You Of Great Faith! | Learning To Walk With God---Diana Symons

Leave a comment